Skip to main content
Parramatta History and Heritage
Home
Home Parramatta History and Heritage

Main navigation

  • Home
  • What we do
    • Council Archives
    • Community Archives
    • Research Library
    • Cultural Collections
    • Media collections
  • Research
    • Our Stories
    • Publications
    • Topics
  • Contact
    • Enquiries
    • Offer a donation
    • Volunteer
    • Copyright and Policies
Search the Library catalogue
Search the Archives & Collections
Where do you want to search?
Search on this website
Archives and Collections
Research library
  1. Home
  2. Search
Displaying Results 291 - 300 of 1171 for your search:
Parramatta’s Convict Drains and Sewer System
The area between the Parramatta River foreshore and the railway line next to Parramatta Square was originally a shallow valley of numerous low mounds and depressions all of which were imperfectly…
Parramatta’s First Gaols 1796-1835
In September 1796 Governor Hunter directed the building of a  wooden gaol on the northern riverbank of the new settlement at Parramatta. This 100 foot (30.5 Metre) gaol was on built on the site…
Parramatta’s First Shopping Arcade
The site of the Connection Arcade at Centenary Square, opposite St John’s Church, marks the place where Parramatta’s first shopping arcade was constructed. The arcade was constructed in 1925-26…
Parramatta’s Rangihou Reserve and its Maori History
The Rangihou Reserve in Parramatta was central to Maori activity in Australia in the early 1800s. This was mainly due to the support and encouragement of Samuel Marsden who set up a school and…
Paul Barry Barber 2007-2008
Councillor Barber was raised in East Parramatta, educated at Parramatta East Public and Macquarie Boys High Schools and went to work as a shift controller at the Shell Refinery in 1976. His…
Paul J Garrard 1995-1996, 1998-1999, 2002-2004, 2009-2010, 2015-2016
Lord Mayor 1995-1996, 1998-1999, 2002-2004, 2009-2010, 2015- Councillor Garrard was born in Granville and was educated at Marist Brothers Auburn (now know as Benedict College). After completing…
Perth House and Stables
Perth House, 85 George Street, Parramatta Perth House is aesthetically and technically significant. It is a single storey Colonial Victorian Georgian residence with a hipped roof to a central…
Phillip Henry Jeffery 1940-1946
Mayor for the years 1940 – 1946. Alderman 1926 – 1939, 1947 – 1953. Died 12th February, 1984 (From The Advertiser, 22nd February, 1984) A former Mayor of Parramatta, Mr. Phillip Jeffery, has…
Prince Alfred Square, Parramatta – an historical tour of the site by John McClymont
PRINCE ALFRED SQUARE Church St, Victoria Rd, Marist Place & Market St Beginning at Lennox Bridge, cross to the corner of the Par k and follow the park boundary in an anti- clockwise…
Prison Escape, Parramatta Gaol, 1968
On the morning of the 24 August 1968 the prisoners were being mustered as usual in the gaol’s exercise yard when the warders suddenly noticed two men climbing the 25 foot wall of the yard using a…

Pagination

  • First page <<
  • Previous page <
  • Page 26
  • Page 27
  • Page 28
  • Page 29
  • Current page 30
  • Page 31
  • Page 32
  • Page 33
  • Page 34
  • Next page >
  • Last page >>
 

The City of Parramatta respectfully recognises the traditional owners of the land and waters of Parramatta, the Darug peoples.
Sensitivity notice: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander viewers are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased ancestors.

Footer

  • Privacy policy
  • Terms, conditions and copyright
  • Accessibility

Follow us:

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest

Produced by City of Parramatta © 2020